Hello 2008!

First blog of the new year and almost missed the first month entirely! Good thing that I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions about frequent blogging. I didn’t make any resolutions actually. However, this is the year that I have set some goals.

I’ve told my wife that I desire to read more and that this is the year I mark getting back into shape. Kind of sad that I’m at the point that I have to express it as “getting back into”. People warned me that 30 years old changes things. Nah! Not me…or so I thought. I am now 32 and have realized that somewhere in the last 10 years of marriage I have gained about 30 pounds. That’s not right.

I think most of it came with blowing out the candles on my birthday cake 2 years ago. My metabolism used to take care of these things for me, but I can’t just blame it on a slowed metabolism. I realized playing basketball a few times in the last year that I lost my legs. Before you call me Stumpy, they’re still there, but they just can’t run like they used to. I realized I couldn’t always hussle down the court like I used to. Sometimes I have to walk. That’s not right.

I told myself last year that I have to start running to get in shape. I pushed it and refused to walk any of it. After all, I did four years of track, I shouldn’t have to walk. Coming back I realized that my breathing sounded like a dying dog. I’m sure people who heard me were just waiting for me to collapse. I pushed running somewhere between 1 1/2-2 miles without stopping (and barely not dying). I’ve since read that this was not good for my body (my body was screaming out the same thing). This running regimen lasted only 2 times. That’s not right.

So this year I am setting some goals that all fit under the category of BUDGET. Yeah it looks like a big ugly word and in the past not something that I prioritized. Yet with age comes wisdom, right (and a bit of a pudge if you’re not careful)? So this is the year that I am setting the goal of budgeting my time, finances, mind and body. My wife is a huge help and inspiration for this as well. My goal is to be in more shape in mind and body by the time I blow out those 33 candles. You heard it here, so that’s like writing in stone, right? So all of you who have read this are now my accountability partners. In the words of Paul, “Remember that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize. You also must run in such a way that you will win. All athletes practice strict self-control. they do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step. I am not like a boxer who misses his punches. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what I should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.” That is right.

One thought on “Hello 2008!

Leave a Reply

